The MTV Africa Music Awards KwaZulu-Natal 2015, brought to you by KwaZulu-Natal Province in association with Absolut and in partnership with The City of Durban, will take place at the Durban International Convention Centre (Durban ICC), KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa on Saturday 18 July 2015.

Celebrating the extraordinary evolution of African achievement, this year’s MAMA recognises contemporary artists and trailblazers in a range of music and lifestyle categories including Song of the Year, Video of the Year, Best Collaboration and Personality of the Year. A total of 70 nominees were revealed at the event, across 13 different categories. Nominees for additional categories, including the MTV Base Leadership Award and Best International Act, will be revealed at a later date.

East Africa is represented by our own artists; Jose Chameleone who has been nominated for the MAMA EVOLUTION AWARD, Sauti Sol, Diamond Platinumz and Vanessa Mdee. Make sure you click on the image below to vote for our East Africa Artists.

Mama Awards Vote

Here is the list;


Best Male

  • AKA (South Africa)
  • Davido (Nigeria)
  • Diamond (Tanzania)
  • Sarkodie (Ghana)
  • Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female

  • Bucie (South Africa)
  • Busiswa (South Africa)
  • Seyi Shay (Nigeria)
  • Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
  • Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Group

  • B4 (Angola)
  • Beatenberg (South Africa)
  • Black Motion (South Africa)
  • P-Square (Nigeria)
  • Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act Transformed by Absolut

  • Anna Joyce (Angola)
  • Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
  • Duncan (South Africa)
  • Patoranking (Nigeria)
  • Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Best Hip Hop

  • Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
  • K.O. (South Africa)
  • Phyno (Nigeria)
  • Olamide (Nigeria)
  • Youssoupha (DRC)

Best Collaboration

  • AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/Nigeria)
  • Davido featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz: “The Sound” (Nigeria/SA)
  • Diamond & Iyanya: “Bum Bum” (Kenya/Nigeria)
  • Toofan & DJ Arafat: “Apero Remix” (Togo/Ivory Coast)
  • Stanley Enow & Sarkodie: “Njama Njama Cow Remix” (Cameroon/Ghana)

Song of the Year

  • Cassper Nyovest: “Doc Shebeleza” (South Africa)
  • Euphonik featuring Mpumi: “Busa” (South Africa)
  • DJ Fisherman & NaakMusiQ featuring DJ Tira, Danger & Dream Team: “Call Out” (South Africa)
  • K.O featuring Kid X: “Caracara” (South Africa)
  • Lil Kesh Featuring Olamide & Davido: “Shoki Remix” (Nigeria)
  • Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria)
  • Sauti Sol: “Sura Yako” (Kenya)
  • Toofan: “Gweta” (Togo)
  • Wizkid: “Show You The Money” (Nigeria)
  • Yemi Alade: “Johnny” (Nigeria)

Best Live

  • Big Nuz (South Africa)
  • Diamond (Tanzania)
  • Flavour (Nigeria)
  • Mi Casa (South Africa)
  • Toofan (Togo)

Video of the Year

  • “Crazy” – Seyi Shay Featuring Wizkid; Director: Meji Alabi
  • “Doors” – Prime Circle; Director: Ryan Kruger
  • “Love You Everyday” – Bebe Cool; Director: Clarence Peters
  • “Nafukwa” – Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw
  • “The Sound” – Davido Featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz; Director: Sesan

Best Pop & Alternative

  • Fuse ODG (Ghana)
  • Jeremy Loops (South Africa)
  • Jimmy Nevis (South Africa)
  • Nneka (Nigeria)
  • Prime Circle (South Africa)

Best Francophone

  • DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)
  • Jovi (Cameroon)
  • Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
  • Tour 2 Garde (Ivory Coast)
  • Toofan (Togo) 

Best Lusophone

  • Ary (Angola)
  • B4 (Angola)
  • Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
  • NGA (Angola)
  • Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)

Personality of the Year

  • Basketmouth (Nigeria)
  • Bonang Matheba (South Africa)
  • OC Ukeje (Nigeria)
  • Trevor Noah (South Africa)
  • Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

MAMA Evolution Award 2015

“The MAMA “Evolution” award honours established artists who have made an indelible mark on African and global music culture, taken African music to new territories around the world, pushed the boundaries of creativity, and shaped the soundscape of contemporary Africa.” says Tim Horwood, Channel Director, MTV Base.

Here is the list of Niminees for the Evolution Award 2015

  • Jose Chameleone (Uganda)
  • 2Face (Nigeria)
  • Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
  • Asa (Nigeria)
  • BlackCoffee (South Africa)
  • D’Banj (Nigeria)
  • FallyIpupa (DRC)
  • HHP(South Africa)
  • P-Square (Nigeria)
  • Samini (Ghana).

For more information on the MTV Africa Music Awards KwaZulu-Natal 2015, please go to or, like us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter and Instagram @MTVBaseAfrica. To join the conversation about the awards please use the hashtag #MTVMAMA2015.